A reader recently asked for information about an unidentified advertiser of jobs that has been posting job ads on various job boards using the address jobpostings101(AT)gmail.com. While I did not have any special information about the identity of the poster, be it an employer, agency or individual recruiter, a search of Google showed where they have been posting ads, for how long and what they advertised. Recent job postings don't identify the organization, but Google's summary of earlier ads show jobpostings.ca and jobpostings.net, both domains belonging to a student-originated enterprise named Passion Inc. According to the web sites I saw, it was started in a dorm at Dalhousie University in Halifax.
CIRA records show that the administrative contact for the domain jobpostings.ca is:
Administrative contact
Name: Mark Laurie
Job title: Partner
Postal address: Passion Inc
Passion Inc
25 Imperial Street, Suite 100
Toronto ON M5P 1B9 Canada
Phone: 1 416 9328866 x 222
Fax: 1 416 4839763
Email: mlaurie@passiongroup.com
So, yes, the poster is a media company advertising for clients who want to reach the student and new graduate market segment.
That's better than blindly sending your information into cyberspace, hoping it won't be misused. I still wonder about the reason for the apparent secrecy, but that's up to them, as the choice of applying or not is up to you.